About us


The Department of Physics and Astronomy "Ettore Majorana" of the University of Catania supplies resources, instrumentation, and support towards both fundamental and applied research in physical sciences. It promotes teaching and the dissemination of physics, and coordinates initiatives aimed at developing scientific research and its applications. The Department is naturally oriented towards internationalization, both as an institution, and especially through the international collaborations of its members and the research groups thereof. To this aim, the Department is a partner of both foreign universities and research institutions. The Department hosts an undergraduate programme in Physics (BSc: 3 years) and a graduate programme in Physics (MSc: 2 years), the latter being taught entirely in English. In particular, the MSc course in Physics includes an explicitly international curriculum in Nuclear Phenomena and their Applications, in partnership with several European universities and international research institutions within the Erasmus+/Erasmus Project Mundus. Three doctorates are active at the Department: a PhD course in Physics, a PhD in Material Science and Nanotechnology, a PhD course in Complex systems for Physical Socio-Economic, and Bio- Sciences. The Department also hosts a Specialization school in Medical physics. The Department promotes excellence in education at the university level and an early approach to research, also through a close collaboration with the Scuola Superiore di Catania. The Department closely collaborates with numerous research institutions, including in particular the Sezione di Catania of the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, the Laboratori Nazionali del Sud of the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, the Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania the Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica, the Istituto per la Microelettronica ed i Microsistemi of the Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, the Centro Siciliano di Struttura della Materia e Fisica Nucleare, the Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per le Scienze Fisiche della Materia. The Department is divided in a main building and the Sezione di Astrofisica. The Department asserts equal rights and opportunities. Since November 1st, 2023, Professor Stefano Romano is Head of Department.